Licensed Vocational Nurse | Nursing Assistant | RN | Medical Assistant | Dental Hygienist | Dental Assistant | Pharmacy Tech | Anesthesia Tech | Respiratory Therapist
| Surgical Tech | EMT | Veterinary-Tech | PT Assistant | Physician Assistant | Best Medical Tech Jobs | Best Healthcare Assistants Jobs Therapists | Male Nurse | Best Vision Care Careers | Medical Jokes | Nursing Students | Medical Careers Mosaic | Nurses’ Stories | Best Unusual Medical Jobs| Resume Samples | Viral Images

Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nurse: WOC

A Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nurse, WOC, nurse provides acute and rehabilitative care for people with selected disorders of the gastrointestinal, genitourinary, and integumentary systems. As an educator, consultant, researcher, and administrator, the WOC nurse plays a pivotal role in the guidance of optimal patient care.

WOC Nurse

WOC Nurse

In_order to sit for the CCCN exam, the applicant must be an RN with a Bachelor Degree and has either completed an accredited education program or qualifies via the Experiential Pathway. The Wound, Ostomy, and Continence Nursing Certification Board (WOCNCB) began certifying nurses in 1978 as a way to recognize and differentiate the value of expert nurses from those at an entry level. Becoming board certified is a voluntary process that requires consistent evaluations of a nurse’s professional knowledge and skills. While a nurse who is not board certified may possess basic entry-level skills, he or she may not have the specialized skills and experience to adequately provide expert care. Board certification ensures that a nurse is knowledgeable and well qualified to provide specialized care.

The following credentials are awarded based on the successful completion of the examination:

CWOCN Certified Wound Ostomy Continence Nurse
CWCN Certified Wound Care Nurse
COCN Certified Ostomy Care Nurse
CCCN Certified Continence Care Nurse
CWON Certified Wound Ostomy Nurse
CWOCN — AP Certified Wound Ostomy Continence Nurse Advance Practice
CWON — AP Certified Wound Ostomy Nurse Advance Practice
CWCN — AP Certified Wound Care Nurse Advance Practice
COCN — AP Certified Ostomy Care Nurse Advance Practice
CCCN — AP Certified Continence Care Nurse Advance Practice

WOC certification improves the level and quality of patient care by defining and maintaining competency within the WOC specialties. Furthermore, certification provides a competitive advantage for employment and promotes job satisfaction. The nurse who chooses to certify demonstrates a commitment to WOC nursing practice and patient protection. Certification must be re-established every five (5) years.

You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.